PDA

View Full Version : The Importance of Drawing

hawaiianstylz
10-13-2007, 05:53 PM
Hi I am a new student at an Art Institute where they teach animation. This is a huge debate and i dont know if this is a stupid question or not. but i have been asking various people at my school about this. I am a decent artist when it comes to life drawing, anatomy, pencil, and paint mediums. A friend of my told me one day not to waste my time drawing, if im going to be a 3d artist. He also said you dont really need that to be good in 3d. This kind of came to a shock to me, because i was always told if your concepts are good in 2d, they will be even better in. A lot of times ive heard the 3d program is just a tool. im sure this has been talked about before but i wanted to know everyones opinion on this. please feel free to leave any comments you like, i would like to hear everyones feed back.

RockstarKate
10-15-2007, 01:38 PM
Being able to draw and being a good artist in general is really going to help you. You definitely need those skills if you want to be good at 3D (or any other cg for that matter)
Some studios require life drawing in your portfolio.
You can always tell when someone works in 3D without any general art skills. Their models will lack good proportions and composition. Their color choices will be bad. I can't tell you how useful it will be if you can draw your front and side views of a character correctly. It seems like a lot of people fall down on that- and it should be the first step a lot of times.
3D is just a tool. You need some artistic skill or you won't know what to do with it. Anyone who tells you otherwise doesn't know what they are talking about.

Sagadur
10-15-2007, 04:23 PM
Kathleen, I agree with you but I also think that there might be exeptions: depending on what you create, being able to draw isn't allways a must and there are people who seem to be able to wield a 3D-grid as if they're modelling clay (with "slightly" different deformability).