PDA

View Full Version : Question About Mel Scripting for Animators

Ckerr812
04-09-2003, 12:27 PM
Hi all,

I have a a question to Mark, or anyone else who has read the book.

I have just gotten in to learning mel, and what I need to learn is how to automate some tedious stuff I do everyday.

Idealy I want to do something similar to the The Setup Machine, but using my own personal rigs, and I want to make this process as fast and painless as possible.

My goal is, I want the animator to setup the skeletal sksytem (with no animation controls, IK handles, consraints..etc), just plane old joints, and with the touch of a button or two, I hope to write some scripts that will make the constraints, Animation controls and so on an automated process through mel script, giving a consistent naming and node scheme to all rigs, in the line.

Will this book help me on my way to doing this? I am just getting into mel script, and hoping to achieve this goal.

dwalden74
04-09-2003, 01:39 PM
I´ve read the book, and also done many auto-setup scripts, pretty much like the way you´re explaining here. So.... the book won´t really help you with setup techniques, but reading it will give you a better general understanding of MEL syntax if you have no previous experience. There´s a brief section on character usage at the end, but if I remember correctly it only covers character selection UI and some very minor character controls stuff. Certainly not much that will help you specifically in building a series of auto-setup scripts.

:beer:
David

CGmonkey
04-09-2003, 03:45 PM
Well if you're really into learning MEL I think you could use Marks book as a basis and figure out the rest yourself.

I don't think it will be that hard once you finish his book.. Perhaps dig abit in A|W helpfile.. People tend to forget that such file exists :P

CaptainSam
04-09-2003, 04:26 PM