PDA

View Full Version : mirror skin weight problem


HJ-panorama
10-13-2007, 01:08 AM
hello

I have a very clean character ( mirrored) .. with a clean skeleton...

but when i do try to mirror skin weight at the region within the root and the left and right the vertexes take the same skin weight as befor ... and ....i need to not to mirror at this region and do it seperatly for left and right hips and root

i tried to add a couple of dummy joints between the root joint and R and L hips .... ( i'd heard that i'd help out ) but the problem is still out there....
what can i do for this...?

thank you very much

instruct9r
10-13-2007, 06:01 PM
i've noticed that Maya 8.5 have problems (bug's) with the mirror skin weights..
I'f you're using 8.5... move to Maya 7 while skinning....

modi
10-25-2007, 04:22 PM
is it just me or did autodesk not fix this in 2008 as well?
I love the new shortcuts for painting wts in 2008 but the mirror skin does a really poor job for the verts in the center. I've had to go back and fix them manuall everytime i mirror wts.
Does anyone else have this issue?

Robken
10-25-2007, 05:36 PM
a workaround is to make a quick select set of all the vertices on the model except the middle ones, then before you mirror the weights, select the quick select set.

this way it'll only mirror the weights on the selected vertices, and won't change the middle ones

modi
10-25-2007, 06:35 PM
cool, thanks for the tip.
i found an interesting workaround as well.
Maya seems to do a more accurate job when all the joints are parented to something, my face setup has like 30 joints and were not parented to a main joint. Now i parent , mirror wts and unparent and it works.

Soulcialism
10-26-2007, 05:37 PM
a workaround is to make a quick select set of all the vertices on the model except the middle ones, then before you mirror the weights, select the quick select set.

this way it'll only mirror the weights on the selected vertices, and won't change the middle ones

i wouldn't call this a workaround, i would call this proper usage... i know it's easier to select the whole model and just mirror it all, but weighting down the center of the model is specific and personally, i wouldn't want to take the chance of having a script alter the weighting i just set on all of those vertices when they are already doing exactly what i want them to do.

CGTalk Moderation
10-26-2007, 05:37 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.