PDA

View Full Version : need suggestions: samanosuke 2D WIP

Andre Jackson
04-09-2003, 04:21 AM
Well, I originally posted this on the apt604 forums, but they don't seem very talkative.

I didn't introduce myself in my first post, so I figured I would now. Don't mind the angsty screen name, I just keep it because I've been using it for so long. You can call me WAM instead.

Anyway, this is my first attempt at digital painting with painter 7, I used the round camelhair brush with arn's settings almost exclusivly (thanks [FC]). So far though, it's not turning out much like I want. I was going for a likeness of japanese actor takeshi kaneshiro, but it's not going very well, I think if I told you it was him you might be able to tell, but otherwise it doesn't seem to be working (I did exxagerate the nose intentionaly btw, that's part of my drawing style). Btw, I will be adding in Jean Reno and a background of sorts later.

Right now I'm having a very hard time with two things.

1. defining shapes well without conspicious solid-black outlines. I feel they take away from the work. I may try to paint over them with a bigger brush with a darker color of the shape it's meant to define to try and get away from the look later. As you can see, right now they are only temporary and I haven't outlined the shapes that I felt were defined by themselves as it was. I also haven't bothered making sure the paint stayed inside the lines at all times since I may do away with them. If you know of any styles that might fit the piece I'd appreciate it if you could show me some examples.