PDA

View Full Version : Where is the collapse, bevel, chamfer tools

riyazgomes
10-01-2007, 11:28 AM
Hi...Im a noob to Blender....I am currently review it for use in my studio http://www.dimension-z.net

I have managed to get over the quirky interface and now love it however while learning the modeling tools..I find many things missing....Where is the collapse, bevel, Poke, create polygon and chamfer tools....Do I need to use workarounds to perform these functions.

Thanks

Riyaz

Michael-Williamson
10-01-2007, 11:59 AM
Collapse: (from spacebar menu)... edit>edges>collapse or Alt m for the shortcut

Bevel: currently from a script, but there's a summer of code thing coming that looks really nice (bevel as you would expect in "edit" or just use a modifier so that it only happens at render time)

The script can be found in the menu next to the "mode" pulldown :
mesh>scripts>Bevel center.

"poke" I'm not familiar with, what does it do?

"Create Polygon" select the verts (2, 3 or 4 at a time) and hit the "f" key
This works for skinning too if you select two edge loops or two groups of faces too (kinda like "bridge" tools that can be found in other packages.

Create verts in space by ctrl LMB with nothing selected or extrude whatever you have selected by doing the same with a selection.

Extrude using the "e" key

"Chamfer" there are some workarounds, but the Bevel Center script with the "recursive" option might help, else check out the Blender Art magazine back issues there's an in depth tutototial on this sort of thing in one of them (can't remeber right now, so sorry!)

The bad news is Blender still lacks a few things, the good news is that they seem to be coming!

If your bold try the various builds available at Graphicall.org where the various branches of latest code can be found.
I love the pop up context menus for the various tools, really nice in making things explicit. Once you know where the tools live, which is harder than it should be!

Good luck

Mike