PDA

View Full Version : Springy 'Locks' of Hair, dynamically animated? beginner Question

Zeusbwr
09-28-2007, 08:41 PM
Ok, Since my characters rig is rounding the final corner, and i already know everything im doing with my face, i need to get a bit of heads up for his hair. He doesn't have hair in a normal particle sense, he has cartoony, springy, and sparse hair. In the end, it will probably be around 10-20 hair locks on his head (big fat things).

Here is an example picture, the hair is similar to this, but shorter, standing straight up (with a little bit of weight/bend), and thicker. Same concept though.
http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/01/07/john_butler_wideweb__430x289.jpg

With that said, i am hoping to dynamically rig them so i dont have to manually hand animate each 20 locks by hand. Any starter tips for how this is done? I am a medium skilled rigger, coming from XSI, but i have no experience in dynamics.

From what i've seen in other rigs, i am hoping to have something in where basically, the hair just collectively lags behind the head. So i can move my head controller around, animate, etc, but when my head/body/whatever keys are set, i can just hit play and the hair will sort of bounce and follow along.. just like you'd expect.

Soo... with all that said, can you give me some tips on.. anything? What this sort of thing is called, what training resources cover this well (free or paid, i buy a lot of DT stuff already), etc.

Thanks for reading :)

DrYo
09-28-2007, 09:03 PM
You might not need the Maya Hair system to do this, especially if it's cartoony.