PDA

View Full Version : A lot to learn

digitalkarma
09-25-2007, 01:14 AM
Hi all

I am a former production artist turned teacher who finally figured out that i really wanted to be an illustrator. trying to teach self. this piece is being done in photoshop with a mouse.

all help, thought and comments will be greatly appreciated

Shiki
09-25-2007, 02:23 AM
I use a mouse also.:) You have a good sense of lighting so far, more of the details still need fleshing out to really appear more real. You can do it though. And I also appreciate your doing what you want, instead of folloing what could be an unhappy career. I'm similar in that I never followed through to get a position in my major of animation. It's a hard field and quite unstable. So I also am an illustrator, self taught too.

If you're using a phot you should have a good idea on light/shadow and the details that you'll need to paint in. Good luck.;)

AndreaGS
09-25-2007, 02:31 AM
I think it's a great concept! I think right now things look a little fuzzy and out of focus. Try to sharpen the edges up a bit.

That's all I have for now. I look forward to seeing its progression!

kami1314
09-25-2007, 10:13 AM
if you are going to follow the path of a illustrator,invest in a tablet doesnt have to be an expensive one.for now you could do with a graphire.but the pic is hot,to be made with a mouse:applause:

digitalkarma
09-25-2007, 10:47 AM
thanks for the support everyone. it certainly is intimidating being amongst so many illustrators with god like abilities.

Question: Is it cheating to draw in a sketchbook and then paint over the scanned image? I have been milling around CGTalk awhile and it seems like everyone just starts right on the computer.

also, any suggestions for a name on this piece? I was thinking "Turf War"

nerdyninja
09-25-2007, 08:17 PM