PDA

View Full Version : how to render Occlusion?


reformidatio
09-22-2007, 07:54 PM
Didnt find anything about it on the Help file, anything but a node called dgs_material from Mental Ray.

How do I render a occlusion pass?

HellstormDe
09-22-2007, 08:41 PM
The node is called mib_amb_occlusion and mib_fg_occlusion.
The fit well in the ambient- or incandescence slot of any material.

Just search the mental ray documentation (accessible via the maya doc) for a more detailed description.

An easy way to do an occlusion pass is to assign mib_amb_occlusion to a surface shader material. Assign it to all objects in your scene (you can use a render layer with material override) and render it.

residentcoppa
09-22-2007, 09:12 PM
or you can simply use the occlusion template from render layers ...

schajee
09-24-2007, 04:59 PM
Two ways to do that... manually using FG and a simple surface shader or by creating an occlusion layer in Maya.

Method 1: Create a surface shader... assign mib_amb_occlusion to all objects in the scene. Render with Final Gather.

Method 2: Add all required objects into an empty Render Layer... Use the Occlusion Preset and hit Render.

Ps. Make sure the camera background is white

benclark
09-24-2007, 05:03 PM
http://www.williamkladis.com/tutorial01/tutorial01.html

this should cover everything you'll need

NitroLiq
09-24-2007, 06:38 PM
Just curious, which attribute of the surface shader gets the connection from the AO's output? I've been able to get AO with the render layer preset as well as plugging it into a lambert but wasn't so successful trying to use a surfaceshader.

Kako
09-24-2007, 06:46 PM
Just curious, which attribute of the surface shader gets the connection from the AO's output?

.outValue > .outColor

reformidatio
09-25-2007, 04:59 AM
Awesome! Thanks a lot!

CGTalk Moderation
09-25-2007, 04:59 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.