PDA

View Full Version : rigging a tentacle


mikeBonifacio
09-17-2007, 01:29 PM
hello all,

i've modeled a 6 legged octopus and now that the rigging is here, im kinda stuck.
i've already created the skeleton with 8 joints for each tentacle. in a quick smooth bind i did, it didn't look very fluid.

how can i set him up to rotate in all directions very easily and fluid.

note: i am not a rigger, mostly just a modeler, but i can follow directions and tutorials if im given the right direction.

thanks

Matt Leishman
09-17-2007, 03:46 PM
go here for a basic, yet very solid tutorial.

http://www.computerarts.co.uk/tutorials/3d__and__animation/rigging_in_maya

BoostAbuse
09-19-2007, 06:08 AM
Search yields some helpful things :)

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=88&t=520125&highlight=tentacles

-s

Matt Leishman
09-19-2007, 03:23 PM
You always have to "one up" me don't you Shawn ... geez.

BoostAbuse
09-19-2007, 03:59 PM
But of course, it's my way of making you work while munching on your free bagel :P

yenvalmar
09-20-2007, 05:25 AM
if you need really stretchy tentacles like an octopus i prefer wire deformers with clusters along the wire to control it. these can be rigged in any number of ways but the main thing is having an invertebrate rig, will allow far easier to make it stretchy if you need that effect and will make sure it always bends with a perfect curve, no worry about joint segmentation. these tutorials showed tentacles made of like metal that would not change length or stretch but real tentactles dont have bones so why should mayas :)

http://www.yenvalmar.com/TVC/movies/sprite.avi

the squid in the second shot in this sprite ad i worked on used this no bones wire deformer technique, the animation was intentionally done at about 10 fps (dont ask me, the art director wanted it) but the tentacles were posed entirely with a wire deformer/cluster rig.. even though i didnt need them to be stretchy for this shot, they are :) and it works pretty nice imo.. made a FARRR lighter scene than if i had 234 joints each..

in this case i used the same wire deformer on both the tentacle geo and the suckers, for whatever its worth.

CGTalk Moderation
09-20-2007, 05:25 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.