PDA

View Full Version : js clavicle

shaunyue
04-04-2003, 07:58 AM
Hi everyone,
I'm working my way through jason schleifer's awesome lecture, and I love the auto clavicle.
I've been trying to add FK to the rig, but am having problems. I've tried creating two new skeletons, one a FK, and the other with joints orient constrained by the IK of the original rig and the new FK skeleton.
The problem is that it jumps around undesirably, and animating the blend via a custom attribute, it flips and doesnt take the most direct route between FK and IK.

Any suggestions?

cheers
shaun

dwalden74
04-04-2003, 11:50 AM
Are you talking about the first DVD or the second? If itīs the first one (auto-shoulder), then you might want to try and create a "dummy" arm that follows your ik arm, which you can then use to put the auto setup on. This worked for me.

:beer:
David

Rudity
04-04-2003, 12:27 PM
Ok I always have problems explaining this.(because im still learning about it) Ill try again though.

The jumping around and unsmooth blend of the orients is do to the Euler calculation.
To get from one rotation to another with a Euler calculation there is infinite to the power of something(I forgot) * 6 solutions.
So thats alot of solutions. So from point a to b Maya is just "guessing" so to speak its way to the other rotation.
Graph a orient constraint in the graph editor and look at its curve. You'll sorta see what I mean.
To fix this problem you need to make it quaternion.
A quaternion calculation is Vector based so there is no guessing from point a to b.
So instead of using orient constraints to blend, use an aim constraint on the blend arm with two locators. One for up, and one for aim.
have locators children of the fk and ik arms for each joint, then blend between the locators using point constraints.
There we go now we just made it quaternion. Its a vector based blend and will take the most direct route there.

There might be a tutorial somewhere on how to do this. I havn't looked.