PDA

View Full Version : Final Gather Flicker

quasiagent1
09-13-2007, 09:01 PM
Hello everyone. I'm currently working on a short film (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=224&t=520223) for the Strange Behaviour challenge, and I am using mental ray with final gather to render my scenes. Unfortunately, I am very new to final gather (and mental ray in general for that matter) and I am experiencing severe flickering when I render my scenes.

Unfortunately, the computer where I do all of my work is temporarily without internet access, so I cannot post any images of my settings yet.

I did come across this mel script >here< (http://www.highend3d.com/maya/downloads/mel_scripts/rendering/mental_ray/3751.html) and I will be trying it out, but I have no idea if this is the best solution.

Obviously, since this is a time-sensitive challenge the quicker and the more detailed the suggestions I can get the better :eek: Any help y'all can give me would be most appreciated.

royter
09-13-2007, 10:20 PM
for static scenes, you can bake your FG map,
in your MRrenderglobal node, choose render fg maps and render your scene from different angles.

as for animated scenes, try to raise your FG rays, if that doesn't work, raise your point density.

quasiagent1
09-14-2007, 02:21 AM
I did try raising the rays a good bit, and though that seems to help with the quality and with static object, anything that moves has sever flickering on it.

Again, since I cannot get my computer to connect to the internet, I have no way to upload a video of the flickering. I did, however, attach a couple of images. The after shot clearly shows less splotching, but if you look closely at the background, the rear wall has an odd look to it (almost like a watercolor filter in photoshop). This might be because I tried to mess with the min and max radius settings for FG, but I don't know.