PDA

View Full Version : Maya MentalRay TextureMap Baking

Gísli
09-13-2007, 03:37 PM
Hi.

I've just been offered a job position at a Video Game company. pretty excited about that :)

I'll be baking shaders and lightning onto the enviroments. I've never done that before and am getting a bit puzzled. I can make decent looking images in mental ray using both mentalray and Maya shaders. I'm wondering how far can I take the baking.

Will I be able to create a complex GI/FG scene in Mr and bake it to a texturemap so it'll look (almost) exacly the same? Somehow I doubt that. What are my limitations, and can anyone give me an idea on how to how to get the best resault.

I can bake occlution and shadows/light (up to a point) without much problems but it's the color and reflection that's a problem.

Lets say I create a glass sphere to be a bit extreem. It will offcource show a displanced image of the backround and a reflection. Should these 2x attributes be rendered out seperetly or is there some magic button that you press to get it to look exacly like your output render :)

Any insight would be appriciated.

Regards,
Gísli

techmage
09-13-2007, 08:43 PM
http://www.evasion3d.com/mw_mr_intro.html

theres that thing.... but ive never used it

Turtle has really good baking functionality.

Gísli
09-13-2007, 09:29 PM
Hi.

Thank you for your reply.

I was however wondering if there was a possibility to do this from within Mental Ray. My resaults are getting better but I still get the feeling that I'm doing this wrong.

Regards,
Gísli

joit
09-14-2007, 04:52 PM
Lets say I create a glass sphere to be a bit extreem. It will offcource show a displanced image of the backround and a reflection. Should these 2x attributes be rendered out seperetly or is there some magic button that you press to get it to look exacly like your output render :)
Gísli