PDA

View Full Version : Makehuman, quidam... cheating?

Drag-N
09-07-2007, 07:54 PM
Hello
I am new to modeling characters, and I wonder if you regard using Makehuman or Quidam cheating like using Poser characters? I'm asking because I am considering to use these software to make the base meshes for my characters, which I will sculpt and texture using ZBrush.

CIM
09-08-2007, 12:07 PM
Those programs are also like Poser, so they would be cheating, as you say.

Drag-N
09-08-2007, 12:27 PM
Although I could agree with you that using those programs would be to cheat, I can't say I agree that Quidam is like Poser; In Quidam you start off with a figure that you edit to make it look somewhat like what you intend your final character to look like. Poser barely allows you to edit your models (it's mostly, as the name implies, a software for posing your models). Makehumans features are somewhere in between these two softwares (you can't tweak your model as much as you can with Quidam, but it let's you knead them more than in Poser).

RockstarKate
09-24-2007, 06:13 PM
It's only cheating if you lie about it.
Be up front with the choices you make. Someone will always be able to tell, even if you try to hide it and that will make you look very, very bad.
If you use Make Human, Poser or whatever, just be sure to mention it.
I don't think it's cheating, but you also won't learn as much as if you started from scratch.

pming
10-04-2007, 06:04 AM
Hiya

I don't understand why some people think' it's "cheating". The way I see it, taking a program that lets you get a basic human mesh down, and then 'sculpting' it in ZBrush, Mudbox, or whatever is, as far as I'm concerned, pretty much the same thing as taking a cylindar and tweaking it's size/taper a bit then brining it into ZBrush, Mudbox or whatever in order to create a vase. How is that "cheating"?

Since when did using another program to produce a base 'something' become "cheating"? Cheating at what, exactly?