PDA

View Full Version : GI & Caustics

koon69
04-03-2003, 03:15 AM
Whats the best way to fake caustics and global illumination?

Thanks-

Wegg
04-03-2003, 03:46 AM
Skylight for GI.

www.eggprops.com

Don't know if it works for V10 though.

koon69
04-03-2003, 04:33 AM
Dan was here a while back thinking about bringing it to v10.5. Anyway you can get him to update it? Id buy it in a heart beat! :>

Wegg
04-03-2003, 03:49 PM
I'll ask him but. . . as you can imagine. . . sales for AM products aren't exactly on an all time high.

SouthernLaw
04-03-2003, 03:49 PM
Scott Bowers just sent me this from the A:M list:

Hey there J. Griffin,
I posted an example of AM Caustic reflected light using photons, about 6 months ago.
At the time I was using 9.5 and have not done any tests using version 10._ Here is a link to the Image._ and here is a bit of DATA:
http://www.3d-geeks.com/Zzzippo/hires_radiosity.jpg
The clock is a model I had been goofing with for a few months._ It is 6000 patches and has a decal applied for bump and one for the face._ There is one material applied to the whole model._ The material was the standard hash "gold" which i adjusted the colors a bit._ Nothing fancy at all.........
When I became aware of the photon mapping in hash I decided to "check it out" so I simply took my clock......added a little action to pose it, and dropped it into a DEFAULT Choreography setup._ I did not add any ground, sky, environment maps or anything.....all I wanted was to see if the light would actually bounce off the clock.
I did a few test renders at low settings and decided to crank it all the way up and see what happened._ so I set the number of photons to the max number which I think was 100,000.(not remembering clearly it may have been 1,000,000 but as long as you know it was set as high as Hash would allow)