PDA

View Full Version : Interior Scene Lighting - From Lambert to MIA - Observations + Comparisons

drossxyu
08-31-2007, 12:24 AM
This is kinda of a long question / observation thread, but basically i'd like to know if i'm going about this the right way. I've been doing nothing but MR the past 2 weeks for work and it been it's pretty frusturating, but ultimately very satisfying. I've been trying to read up as much as I can on these boards and elsewhere and this is my first attempt as gathering up all of that knowledge and putting it to work. I've supplied pictures and scene files in case anyone has time to take a peak. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Scene Files : http://thelulufinders.com/mr/

My Goal for this is to make the room as bright and evenly illuminated as possible without it being too flat. The idea is that it's a futuristic kids room so it should feel really soft and never be too dark. The only illumination happening now is from the circular opening in the ceiling, but I would eventually like to have the two yellow lamps supply subtle illumination as well( using an omni light in the center of the shade caused some strange shadows). The first picture is a render straight out of maya with the settings supplied below. (Top of Pic 1) The second is after I brought it into photoshop and performed levels and color balance operations on it. (Bottom of Pic 1) I'm fairly happy with the results in post, but I'd like to get it as close as possible within maya. The problem is, is that it's really easy to blow out and flatten the image when trying to light a room that's bright like this.

The shaders are default lambert shaders with different colors. These were used to just get a basic test out, but I would really like to use the MIA material for all of the objects in my scene to make things more accurate, so I did another test with them exclusively.