PDA

View Full Version : Setting up hydraulics

Oddgit
08-30-2007, 11:29 AM
hi! i am not very good at character work, but im building a nice model and want to rig it for my friend to animate. So i set out building a crazy daemonic killer robot of doom. I can set up most of the hydraulic constraints, but the ones going at odd angles are throwing me off. I want to set up the hydraulics so it looks like they are driving the legs and what not. most of the tutorials just have the hydraulics going off at nice right angles, mine unfortunatly do not.
here is a screen grab of my scene...
http://homepage.mac.com/oddgit/rig.jpg
warning its a big image 2560x1600.

i tried using straight bones, straingt aim constraints and a combonaton of bones and aim, i got pretty ok results, but sometimes the rigs totaly fail, other just dont work.

the next will be how to set up self animating tubes and shock absorbers, but i will burn that bridge when i come to it.

JohnPark
08-31-2007, 05:56 PM
I made this tutorial video on rigging a piston that may be a helpful starting point:
http://blip.tv/file/249362/

-JP

hibigibees
08-31-2007, 06:34 PM
hi, have u tried using the set driven key nodes (i mean its indirectly an animation node ) ? set driven key is a really useful node(obj) type in rigging ... ! i mean you can sdk a part of the setup along with those constrains - the goal here is to have a slider (or) a attribute (or) a movable controller when used should animate those pistons, am i getting it right ?

Spackward
09-01-2007, 02:31 PM
John, thanks for posting that video man, i'm checkin out your website right now :D

yenvalmar
09-04-2007, 07:40 PM
i would not rig the geometry directly. NEVER ever rig geometry directly! especially for real productions where geometry might be revised at any time... you dont want to lose your rigging (and possibly animation data) if you have to change the geo.