PDA

View Full Version : Fastest formula to interior render in MR ?


myself44
08-28-2007, 04:12 PM
Hi
The school begins in a few days and this year I have a big project which will consist of recreating the cafeteria with a newly imagined design. A cafetria is definively bigger than a simple house room... so in order to acheive (and to hand-in in time), I'll will need a fastest possible way to render.
Im did some little tests that don't give me much hope :
A simple interior scene, a plain white lambert to all objects.

1st option : Enable MR Physical Sun&Sky (multiplier-2) FG (150 rays, Max/Min radius - 10/1)

1m50s. But obviously way too dark.
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/myself-44/maya2007-08-2811-33-20-73.png

-----

2nd option : Same as 1st + Maya AreaLight (emit no light, only GI w/ default settings)

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/myself-44/maya2007-08-2811-51-23-35.png

A bit better (I know, there are some spots, but I'm just trying too keep settings as low as possible to approximate the render speed) - time went up fast : 5m...
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/myself-44/maya2007-08-2811-42-50-76.png

The problem is, if this simple room completed with all textures, takes hours to render...imagine a 250 ppl capacity cafeteria... it will take days.
The result may not be ultra realistic, just a satisfying look, so I could always try to forget the PS&S and just use GI Spot.lights and FG, if it can speed up the renders.

Maybe there is something wrong in my light setup and settings ... so I left the scene file in case that someone would want to check up.
http://files.filefront.com/room3mb/;8422076;;/fileinfo.html

If you did some interior project, you could also post a shot and tell how long it took, I looked some other popular threads and the beautiful renders are incredibly fast..

Thx

brogh
08-28-2007, 04:27 PM
final gather + area lights, check out the vray interiors with mental ray thread, many techniques are exploited.

:D cheers

royterr
08-29-2007, 03:01 AM
you don't really need an area light or photons for this scene.
a simple physicalsun/sky, with FG ( multibounce) and tweak the indirect multiplier of the mia material. that should do it.

for the modeling, bevel your corners and edges, give them more detail.

i did a rough test, here is the scene:

http://www.aedii.qc.ca/v2/fichiers/uploads/section_4/room3.mb (http://forums.cgsociety.org/room3.nb)

http://www.aedii.qc.ca/v2/fichiers/uploads/section_4/room3.jpg

slipknot66
08-29-2007, 05:56 AM
Well, i would go with GI+FG, you can get some nice results, and its faster than FG diffuse bounces only.Here is a test i did with your scene, area lights+GI+FG(2 FG bounces)

myself44
08-29-2007, 01:41 PM
Thx very much guys for taking your time to download the scene.
The FG multibounce without GI seem not to work for me, I get all kind of weird shadow everywhere... don't know why

By your scene, I learned many things. Didn't know that I must have one area for each window/opening. And slipknot, interesting... I never used any decay for my light and wonder how you acheived this brightness with low photon intensity (3500) when I used something like 100000..
I did a render of your light setup. The PhySun light didn't appear, but I understood the principles. As for the FG Bounces. You said 2. Does this value is set on the "Filter" box of the FG settings ?
About the subdivisions of the walls and roof, does it require all this, can't just bevel and split where is needed ?
Anyway here's the render, took 10 minutes, didn't bother put any material. Hope there's not something going wrong (except for the absence of the sunlight)
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a350/myself-44/maya2007-08-2909-33-25-09.png

Thx again, really appreciate

slipknot66
08-29-2007, 02:48 PM
You are welcome myself44.
Well, the sky should appear, if you are rendering with camera1.
About the meshsmooth, well that was a test i was doing, but it didnt work, and i forgot to tell you to delete the smooth node.Here is a new render i did, now using the mia_round corners to smooth the edges.
http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/5264/gifg2qi8.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

myself44
08-29-2007, 03:34 PM
You are welcome myself44.
Well, the sky should appear, if you are rendering with camera1.

Well, that's the problem. I tried to redner with camera one but an error happens and the render view is showing the viewport instead.
Is there a way to make the sky render in a new created camera ?

btw, your last attached zip doesnt work. "this is not a valid archive", anyway, thx for helping. But just like that : is the arealight Decay affecting the photons energy ? I mean will the photons act the same way if set to No Decay or Quadratic ?
Because I've heard that the Light parameters are working independently to the mentalray photons parameters

royterr
08-29-2007, 03:41 PM
TAs for the FG Bounces. You said 2. Does this value is set on the "Filter" box of the FG settings ?
About the subdivisions of the walls and roof, does it require all this, can't just bevel and split where is needed ?



in the FG settings "max trace depth" that's the number of bounces.


slipknot66 : (http://forums.cgsociety.org/member.php?u=90683)
i like your method, i agree that area lights are more suitable for interiors.

slipknot66
08-29-2007, 04:57 PM
Well, that's the problem. I tried to redner with camera one but an error happens and the render view is showing the viewport instead.
Is there a way to make the sky render in a new created camera ?

btw, your last attached zip doesnt work. "this is not a valid archive", anyway, thx for helping. But just like that : is the arealight Decay affecting the photons energy ? I mean will the photons act the same way if set to No Decay or Quadratic ?
Because I've heard that the Light parameters are working independently to the mentalray photons parameters

About the camera, if you create a new one, you need to go to the render settings and under the environment--Physical Sun and Sky, click the arrow to open the mia_physicalsky1 attribute editor, there click update Camera Connections.
About the photons, well if you use no decay it will increase the light intensity but not the photon intensity.

PS:i reapploaded the zip file, it should work now.

myself44
08-29-2007, 06:05 PM
Hi slipknot
your zip does work now. I think I know why the Sun didn't show up. Now Im cheking the scene; all the object has no material. I went in the hypershade, and all mia_material have a strange icon (not the usual sphere, but multiple overlayed rectangular shape). All mia_material are defined as "unknown". As well as the mia_sun, exposure, sky, sun_direction, etc.
However, I see each material has a GammaCorrect attached to it. Is this the popular 'tomemapping' I've read around here ?
I mean, when you have this gamma attached (with values of 0.45 which is 1 divided by 2.2 I guess), you won't have to post adjust the exposure in photoshop as EXR, just render in jpg, or png and the result will already have the 'correct' exposure .. ?
Im a bit confused about all those gamma and tonemapping thing, even though I've read alot in the other thread.

again, thx for your help.
I should be able to do my cafeteria project ok, just gonna have long night renders, but I was thinking about getting the 30 days trial of RocketRender or the final renders of my project..

royterr
08-29-2007, 06:58 PM
Im a bit confused about all those gamma and tonemapping thing, even though I've read alot in the other thread.


your not the only one. In fact it's not your fault, it's Autodesk's fault.
they delevired a mr for maya version full of......

myself44
08-29-2007, 09:30 PM
your not the only one. In fact it's not your fault, it's Autodesk's fault.
they delevired a mr for maya version full of......

mr not so bad, it's just that it complicates things when it comes to interior renders... why not integrate a bit of Vray along with its flexibility ? :P
oh and happy to see another Montréalais

slipknot66
08-30-2007, 01:58 AM
Hi slipknot
your zip does work now. I think I know why the Sun didn't show up. Now Im cheking the scene; all the object has no material. I went in the hypershade, and all mia_material have a strange icon (not the usual sphere, but multiple overlayed rectangular shape). All mia_material are defined as "unknown". As well as the mia_sun, exposure, sky, sun_direction, etc.
However, I see each material has a GammaCorrect attached to it. Is this the popular 'tomemapping' I've read around here ?
I mean, when you have this gamma attached (with values of 0.45 which is 1 divided by 2.2 I guess), you won't have to post adjust the exposure in photoshop as EXR, just render in jpg, or png and the result will already have the 'correct' exposure .. ?
Im a bit confused about all those gamma and tonemapping thing, even though I've read alot in the other thread.

again, thx for your help.
I should be able to do my cafeteria project ok, just gonna have long night renders, but I was thinking about getting the 30 days trial of RocketRender or the final renders of my project..

About the tonemapping thing, if you want to post process the image after rendering, then the best way its render to EXR, use RGBA (float)4x32 Bit framebuffer, gamma .455, then put gamma 1 in the mia_simlple_exposure, and under preview, uncheck Preview convert tiles, and Preview tonemap tiles. Then you need to adjust things in post to get the correct tonemap. If you will not do anything tonemapping in post, then create a Maya gamma node and connect to your textures, and use .455, leave the mia_simple_exposure gamma at 2.2, then its just a matter of rendering the scene (tga..jpg..etc). You can do the same for basic colors, for example, create a mia_material and a Maya gamma node(.455) then connect the Maya gamma node to the difuse slot of the mia material. Use the color slot of the gamma node to change the basic color to any color you want.

Olegr
08-30-2007, 08:43 AM
As for the FG Bounces. You said 2. Does this value is set on the "Filter" box of the FG settings ?

You set FG multibounce by going to the outliner, right click, turn off show DAG objects only, find miDefaultOptions and then in the final gather part of miDefaultOptions you have the FG diffuse bounce option. Default is 0. Setting it to 1 is the same as checking the secondary diffuse bounces in render globals. If you increase it beyond 1 you get more bounces.

djltrain
08-30-2007, 03:09 PM
Is the gamma correction for the color bleed as well? I have had a problem before with mia_material when i have white walls and say something like your green cubes it would bleed way to much. How did you correct that with the miamateral?

CGTalk Moderation
08-30-2007, 03:09 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.