PDA

View Full Version : How to stretch a texture from "planar-mapped" to "cylindrical mapped".

joeniemeloenie
08-27-2007, 10:22 PM
hay,

I projected a picture onto a head-model using planar mapping. The texture falls nice onto the front of the face, but the planar projection keeps me from being able to texture/paint the ears, sideburns,... (see extra pictures attached below)

http://www.wickstonia.be/cgtalk/head.jpg

If I switch to "cylindrical mapping" I DO have the ability to texture or paint the ears, sideburns,... but then I lose that 'nice' texture coverage on the face...That would force me to dig into photoshop to stretch and tweak the picture... (that would take me too much time to do, I'm not good with photoshop).

So actually, what I want to do is:
when switching from "planar mapping" to "cylindrical mapping" I want to have the texture 'stretch' along with the UV's...so I want to have a stretched texture as a result.

in other words:
I want to switch from planar- to cylindrical mapping; with the resulting texture on the face looking exactly like it does now.

*also, you might have noticed in the attached pictures that there are shadows on the face-picture, which isn't by the right way to shade a head...but then again I'm not planning to light the scene at all; I'm using a surface shader. The lighting has to be exactly as it is on the picture, that's why...and also because it's much less work (tight deadline)

I hope you can understand what I'm trying to say...it's kinda hard to explain.

Thanks in advance!!

Emil3d
08-28-2007, 12:38 AM
Make multiple planar projections and after each bake the textures. Open the different textures as layers in Photoshop, delete the bad parts from each texture and combine the best parts into one.

Stahlberg
08-28-2007, 07:22 AM
You have to do some UV mapping.