PDA

View Full Version : Compositing 3D Motion Blur in Shake

ddfletch
08-20-2007, 05:25 PM
I'm completely new to all this so forgive me if I seem a bit parochial.

I've been trying to add some airplanes flying overhead of a shot but the motion blur in shake is a bit... well, lame.

The manual spoke briefly about adding the motion blur in my 3D render prior to making the composite.

When I do this, it looks fantastic but for some reason there is a black ring around the aircraft that I can't seem to get rid of. I can see in the alpha map of the plane animation that the motion blur is more of a grey color than black. Great, this portion of the alpha channel creates a grey blur on my composite. I'm certain that there is a way to combine these two shots effectively but the manual doesn't ever get into it. Can you help me?

Seems like this would be a fairly basic thing that the manuals should have covered. Even noobs like me would be using this feature a great deal to add 3D renders to their live footage.

thehive
08-21-2007, 02:27 PM
you may want to look in to rendering out motion vectors, the ring has to do with the bluring of the image + alpha , also what program are u rendering in?

ddfletch
08-21-2007, 09:03 PM
I'm using Carrara to model, animate and render with. My goal was to show students what is possible with even a cheap piece of software.

WmH
08-21-2007, 10:49 PM
I'm completely new to all this so forgive me if I seem a bit parochial.

I've been trying to add some airplanes flying overhead of a shot but the motion blur in shake is a bit... well, lame.

The manual spoke briefly about adding the motion blur in my 3D render prior to making the composite.