PDA

View Full Version : Multilevel zooming w/ Actionscript?

moroten
03-31-2003, 10:26 AM
Hi,

I'k appreciate a few hints on how I should go about creating a multilevel zoomable map for a swedish real estate company. ((I'm new to actionscript, and I'm not asking anyone to code it for me, but some directions on what to go study and try out would be helpful, so i dont spend lots of time learning unrelated functions. Also, perhaps some things I'm asking for are impossible?))

The map should have perhaps 5 zoomlevels, from full country-level, through province-level to local area level. Spots that can be zoomed to are indicated with a button. Additional zoomlevels (perhaps onto specific houses or part of houses) could be added where needed.

For instance, lets say I want to check for houses in and around Stockholm. From all the zoombuttons in country-level, I click the province I want to go to. The map does a smooth, tweened zoom to that province and new "zoom here" icons fade in to let me continue to some specific part of the province, and further on down to a part of the city where available realestate exists. Here, I want a position-matched aerial shot image to fade in on top of the map.

All information about available buildings need to be database-driven so nobody will have to edit the swf. Info and images on specific houses and aerial shots need to be loaded only when necessary.

A prototype of the application can be found here:
http://213.212.11.156/nccflash/frameset_live.htm

You can only zoom in to one project, and the zoom is handtweened, but it gives an idea of what is needed and (hopefully) the combined lushness of smooth motion and our rendered images.

Many thanks in advance... hope I didnt confuse you all now.

-Daniel

Per-Anders
04-01-2003, 07:10 AM