PDA

View Full Version : Please help me learn how to paint better.

paintingbeast
08-18-2007, 03:16 AM
Hello beautiful artists and members of CGTalk, I have here a basic first draft painting of a small "Simpsons" figurine I had lying on my desk.

I've read many lighting tutorials and painting tutorials before making my first piece of work, however, it's just not easy to actually make a good drawing your first time no matter how much you know.

Please not only critique this garbage, but please teach me how to make this better. If you have a suggestion, please tell & show me how to do it. For example, I cannot figure out how to distinquish the bottom lip and chin as two different surfaces (I'm new to this).

Any help appreciated,
beast

http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/6609/untitled2bs6.jpg

JakeJohnson
08-19-2007, 07:21 PM
Well, the only thing I can say is where to start...and That's usually where everyone starts. You need to copy the masters and create what has already been created. By no means Plagiarizing, but study other artists work. You had a question about that lip, distinguishing one surface from another. The best thing for you to do is to find a painting of a character and study it. Look to see how they solved your questions already. You will save many hours this way. Check out thegnomonworkshop.com and buy some DVD's. Take some classes at a local college, and check out the speed painting stuff on youtube. I hope this helps, good luck.

paintingbeast
08-19-2007, 07:35 PM