PDA

View Full Version : Question about UV Mapping and preventing stretch

Troll-Mage
08-13-2007, 09:20 PM
Sorry I am still quite new to this program, so these might be silly questions.

Creating buildings with doorways, windows etc.

In some sections I want to texture all four sides (interior/exterior) the same texture, I use "A" to select all and then "U" for unwrap (smart projections) to unwrap it in the other blender window for the texture file. The problem is there is always at least one face that is nothing more than a line and the texturing for it comes out all stretched out. Do I have to texture that face individually? Which I have been doing and ties in to the other question below.

Also for a grand hall type entrance, I want to texture just the interior and exterior front entrance faces with different texture files than the other walls. I select that face and apply the texture file, but it comes out stretched. I use the "U" unwrap command, but it locks up the program.

Thanks in advance

Michael-Williamson
08-13-2007, 11:32 PM
Did you mark any seams ? if you didn't, hows it going to know where to split?

go into edit mode and select the edge where you want a seam or split, hit ctrlE and mark seam, go back to uvface select and unwrap with u...

hope that's what you were after, I didn't think your question was too clear!

Mike

Troll-Mage
08-14-2007, 02:56 PM
Did you mark any seams ? if you didn't, hows it going to know where to split?

go into edit mode and select the edge where you want a seam or split, hit ctrlE and mark seam, go back to uvface select and unwrap with u...

hope that's what you were after, I didn't think your question was too clear!

Mike

Yeah, I have messed around with this before but never seem to get the same results as in the tutorials.

I tried again following this tutorial http://biorust.com/index.php?page=tutorial_detail&tutid=85.