PDA

View Full Version : How to match a matte painting with live shot?

andre_alder
03-29-2003, 01:26 PM
Hi folks,

Well, I am a newbie using matte painting : (

So, how to match a matte painting with live shot? Anybody know a good tip?

Later
Andre

jussing
03-29-2003, 03:16 PM
Hi there!

What're we talking about here - tracking, color/contrast matching? Or practical stuff like glass/brush/paint vs. digital??

Please give a little more info...

Meanwhile, take a look at these cool sites:

Seung Ho's matte paintings (http://go.to/seungho)
Tchook - awesome french matte painter (http://perso.wanadoo.fr/tchook/gallery/galerie1.htm)

Cheers,
- Jonas

andre_alder
03-31-2003, 11:56 AM
Hi jussing ,

Sorry,
I am talking about tracking, color/contrast, matching, something like that...

hey man, great sites!!!!!!!

:thumbsup:

Andre

jussing
04-08-2003, 11:53 AM
Well, that's just about the whole package you're asking about :)...

I haven't replied to your last post before now, because frankly, I have no substantial experience in matte painting, so my advice will be best guesses, as good as yours. I was hoping someone more experienced would reply... (maybe you should post it in the 2D section...)

Anyway, for what it's worth, this is what I'll say:

- First of all, how well do you paint? Obviously the key challenge in a matte painting is your own ability to create photorealistic pictures.

- As you'll see from the video clips on that French matte site, you don't have to paint everything by hand - a lot of mountain mattes are really photocollages, modified in Photoshop.

- Perspective matching: this is entirely up to your own skill to get right! ;) Try making a seperate "guide line" layer in photoshop, where you draw sharp, red lines, along the perspective lines in the original background photo. Then match that perspective in you painting/collage...