PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to go to DeVry University.

TerribleOne
08-10-2007, 09:11 PM
Hey guys I just graduated high school, and am wanting to pursue and education in 3-D modeling for games. I always wanted to work in the gaming industry ever since I started playing the playstation one. I once worked on a mod team for Quake 3 :arena and had a blast doing it. Granted it was hard work and didn't really finish it

I've seen some schools advertised on TV that caught my attention. I was looking at DeVry University or the Katherine Gibbs School. Both look like they have very good programs, based on the commercial. A lot of the work looked good. It was really hard to find examples online of student work though.

Has anyone attended either of these 2 schools. It hard for me to decide because the student work i've seen is about the same for each school. How do these 2 schools compare to other schools? I haven't researched too many other schools. I think I just need to up and choose one of these, as they both seem to offer good real world education.

CelticArtist
08-11-2007, 12:40 AM
I don't know your personal situation, but I usually (barring the Acadamy of Art in SF) make it my policy to never go to a school that has a commercial. I went to SCAD 99-03 and it's a good school, Ringling, VFS, etc. etc. all have benefits. It's my understanding that DeVry is a purely technical school, they'll teach you the software, but not the art, that's fine, but in reality, you can do that on your own.

It's my personal opinion, so take it with what you will, that you should go to school to broaden your horizons, enhance your mind so to speak. I can look in a tutorial and figure out where the modify-convert poly to subd option box is and what all the options are, but learning techniques to see light, shadow, form, color, those are things that a good professor can do but have no technical background in a tutorial.