PDA

View Full Version : Soyo Dragon KT400 ULTRA vs Abit NF-7?


dax3d
03-29-2003, 05:50 AM
Hi all,

I'm shopping for new parts and was wondering which of these boards was better. I like the Soyo boards quite a bit, and know nothing of Abit (I do know they have a good reputation though).

I'm on a bit of a budget at the moment and the Soyo is cheaper. It does have 8xAGP 333mh FSB etc...good features.

Would either of these be better for Maya?

thanks for any feedback

singularity2006
03-30-2003, 07:29 PM
omG, someone finally said something about the Soyo KT400... =D

Anyhow, the KT400 chipset isn't that much different from the KT333, both are almost identical except for the fact that the KT400 is slightly friendlier for overclockers and has the burn protection. Anyhow, for hardcore gaming, I would recommend the Soyo KT400 (it's the one I have, platinum edition too). On top of that, it looks really cool in an open case.. =D

But for 3D and others, I think other boards will offer you the performance you want .... but I'm not expert in that. But yeah, I find that my Soyo is the most well rounded piece for the gamer or mid range user. =D

dax3d
03-30-2003, 08:02 PM
thanks! I defitely like that Soyo board. So far though, it seems for 3d the nforce2 chipset is the way to go. I'm still looking for reviews though.

thanks

GregHess
03-30-2003, 08:45 PM
The KT400 Chipset is obsolete. Its been since replaced by the KT400A, and the yet to arrive KT600. There are also two variants of the KT400A, one with the KT400's southbridge, and one with a newer variant.

Nforce2 is currently the ONLY socketA solution if your planning on upgrading anytime in the future. It is the ONLY chipset which supports the 400 FSB Barton's. [currently]

Neither the KT400 nor the KT400A support this. The only via chipset to support the 400 FSB is the KT600, which is slated for a release later this year.

So if you want to utilize the upcoming AMD chips (Month or So) you'll have to go nforce2.

I'd really avoid buying any via boards until they figure out what the heck their doing. Three chipsets within the same time frame isn't a really good sign.

dax3d
03-30-2003, 09:48 PM
Wow, thank very much. That cleared up a bit for me. I'll order the Abit right away. I saw the lowest end Barton core XP was a 2500, so I'll order that too. Should be quite an upgrade for me!

thanks again

DeathCarrot
04-01-2003, 03:28 PM
is this the normal NF7, or the NF7-S? if it's the S, make sure you get a 1.2 version, cures some problems with for example the SATA RAID...

dax3d
04-01-2003, 04:09 PM
It's the S version. I'll have to check on the version.

Thanks for the tip

DeathCarrot
04-01-2003, 04:12 PM
ooh, some people already have their revision 2.0s this adds "official" support for 400mhz fsb bartons, and OCs furhter than the 1.2s

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.