PDA

View Full Version : Biped Animation - Pause, copy keyframes?

mattmatt
08-06-2007, 01:33 AM
Hi there,

This formus is great, and this is my first post :)

I'm hoping someone can help me with an animation I have done using a biped. A lady walks in, pauses, and during her pause she does does various movements, then she walks off out of screen.

Basically, I created her footsteps with the create footsteps dialog. Then I moved two footsteps together so she pauses - then I extended that pause by extending the key frames in Dope view. (i'm very new to all of this but loving it)

The problem is, I during her pause, 3dsmax interpolates keyframs very nicely so that she sways very slowly during her pause. What I need her to do is completly stop with no movement at all during her pause, and then walk off again.

Can I copy the beginning pause keyframe and paste it, say fave or ten seconds later down the track so she doesn't move? Thats how I would do it in After Effects, but it doesn't seem to work here.

Can anyone help me? I would really appreciate it, thanks.

Matt

Hyphen
08-07-2007, 03:25 AM
i dont recall exactly how biped works in max as i haven't used it in quite some time. but when i had worked with it, it seemed like pose-to-pose animation was very difficult and most of it had to be straight ahead animated, or am i thinking of character studio? at any rate, there's an easy way to copy over key frames.

on your timeline there should be small red bars indicating keys. just hold down shift, left click on the key you want to copy and drag it along the timeline.

the swaying motion might because of the tangencies as well. if you check the graph editor you should be able to break the tangencies and flatten them out so that you won't get that sway.

switchblade327
08-11-2007, 09:27 PM