PDA

View Full Version : 10 minute Maya > Mudbox workflow video


WesVasher
08-04-2007, 02:25 PM
This is a ten minute workflow video for rendering a simple displacement in Mental Ray that was painted in Mudbox. Maya 7 and Mudbox 1.0.6 were used.

Online Flash Video (http://one.revver.com/watch/352228) (slightly better quality than the QuickTime Download)

Download QuickTime (http://media.revver.com/qt;sharer=48887/352228.mov)

http://www.vasher.com/v4/images/uploads/proj_mbmayaworkflow_03.jpg

TheRazorsEdge
08-05-2007, 10:37 AM
Neat! Thanks a lot for posting the vid!:thumbsup:

pelos
08-06-2007, 02:07 AM
THANKS FOR OYUR VIDEO,
what happen when i try to bake the displace map and i get the error message
Invalid texture coordinates on lowresh mesh
?
i did the UV mapping in modo

WesVasher
08-06-2007, 04:21 AM
THANKS FOR OYUR VIDEO,
what happen when i try to bake the displace map and i get the error message
Invalid texture coordinates on lowresh mesh
?
i did the UV mapping in modo

pelos, which application are you getting this error in? Maya or Mudbox?

pelos
08-07-2007, 12:36 AM
i get it on mudbox when i click on start to get the displacment map.
and i get the error pop out

mhovland
08-07-2007, 12:51 PM
Make sure none of your UV's are overlapping.

WesVasher
08-07-2007, 01:38 PM
Hey guys, I did a couple tests. You can have overlapping UVs and Mudbox will still extract the map without errors. However if your model doesn't have UVs at all you'll get the 'Texture coordinates are invalid' error.

lollygag
08-07-2007, 08:49 PM
Maya just hangs when when i render.. Output window says:

ERROR, C:/Docu/~/mapdis01.tif: TIFF image class not supported (must be 8 or 16 bits)
IMF did not recognise image file C:/Docu/~/mapdis01.

And the Script Editor:

// Error: Image conversion (to IFF) failed //

// Warning: Failed to open texture file C://~/mapdis01.tif

Maya 8.5 & Mudbox 1.0..

pelos
08-08-2007, 04:32 AM
i do have overlapping UV
but wouldnt be the same if i also usin mirror options for the brush?

WesVasher
08-15-2007, 08:00 PM
Just to remind you guys, this video details using a primitive from Maya which has perfect UVs already. So I would suggest starting with a primitive and make sure that works without errors first.

CGTalk Moderation
08-15-2007, 08:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.