PDA

View Full Version : Shadow Bones? 2 Skeletons?

MinaRagaie
08-01-2007, 07:05 AM
A Quick question about sth I saw in a couple of free rigs...

There's always 2 Skeletons... 1 with all the rig and controllers and the other is a simple FK Skeleton
the FK Skeleton is constrained (Position and orientation) to each respective bone in the rig skeleton. and the Skinning is binding the geometry to the FK Skeleton.

I was woundering what's the point of doing that??
Why not bind the geometry to the Rig Skeleton??
I'm basically a lighting artist in a small team... so being a "Jack of all trades" I have to rig a couple of characters. and..
I'm just woundering if binding the geometry to the Rig skeleton might introduce some problems down the road??

p.s: if it makes any difference I'm rigging these characters in Maya 8.5

-Mina

EricDLegare
08-01-2007, 10:53 AM
Well maybe it is used for IK/FK switching ...

... I don't think they are any issues with binding the rig directly, it must be setup for some "fancy controls" like IK/FK

PEN
08-01-2007, 11:08 AM
You can also use it as another way of version control. If you decide that you need to update the character in the scene you don't have to delete the whole rig, just the constrained rig. Then you can import a new character with the FK bones and constrain that back to the animated rig again.

stewartjones
08-01-2007, 11:27 AM
Yeah, this could be for fancy controls.

It's also an option, say if you have a "base" skeleton, then controls for different characters on top. Sort of a slot-in system;

BASE SKELETON > Choice of control rigs

... If that makes any sense!?!?!

Binding to the rig itself is not an issue in most cases I don't think!

MinaRagaie
08-01-2007, 11:33 AM
Thanks for your reply,

I usually add an attribute to my Foot Ctrl (for example) that switches all the IK's on the leg on and off (same for the hands and Spine)...
Are there any draw backs of switcjing between IK and FK this way??