PDA

View Full Version : Shoulder deformation problems -- mayday

Nightviper
07-25-2007, 01:26 PM
Hi!
I've been learning how to use Maya for about a month now, and this is my first time trying to properly rig and bind a character. I made a simple model of a cat to test it out.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v427/speppa/hellocat.jpg

The problem is... whenever I try to twist the shoulder, it goes all weird and pinchy.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v427/speppa/paincat.jpg

Reading around a bit on the internet, I figure that this is a pretty common problem but -- how do I fix it? I can't find an easy way to do it!

Here's a close up.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v427/speppa/shdeform_armtwistpalm.jpg

I tried making a ring of joints around the problem area and driving its transforms with the rotation of the shoulder joint, but that only works to a certain extent...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v427/speppa/shdeform_fixbackfront.jpg

And it looks even worse when I rotate it the other way.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v427/speppa/shdeform_fixpalmfront.jpg

How do I get it to look better?
Thanks for helping a newbie in trouble!

I have a couple of other questions, too.
</p>

When I build my skeleton, most, if not all of my joints initially end up locked in X. Why does that happen? I have to go and unlock them all the time.
Some of my joints have their axes pointing in weird directions. Most notably, my ROOT joint is off in some weird angle. How do I fix this? It means that my FK spine doesn't bend straight...

Thanks again!

KielFiggins
07-25-2007, 10:09 PM
Yeah, thats a really common problem. Ive tinkered with a few different setups. A good base is

http://www.cane-toad.com/tuteRig_Shoulder.htm

but ive found that hitting gimbal will throw it off.

Some key things (most mentioned in the tutorial):
-Edge looping / flow of the shoulder is important
-Use of the Clavicle
-Twist joints in the upper arm