PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading my system, looking for advise


BFolk
07-20-2007, 07:00 PM
I have decided to replace the core components of my system, motherboard, processor, RAM and a video card. My current system is 3-4 years and between systems I don't pay much attention to technology. With that in mind I was hoping that you could look over what I have come up with so far and offer any suggestions or point out any potential pitfalls with the setup.

The primary use of the new rig will be modeling and painting using XSI, Zbrush, Photoshop and Painter. I dabble in animation but nothing serious and spend little time rendering. I play games periodically but they are not a great concern to me. My budget is about $1500usd, give or take.

So far I have come up with the following:

Motherboard:
Gigabyte GA-P35 DS3P LGA775 (http://www.gigabyte.us/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2506&ModelName=GA-P35-DS3P) or Gigabyte GA-P35 DQ6 LGA775 (http://www.gigabyte.us/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2505&ModelName=GA-P35-DQ6)
I have always gone with ASUS and considered the p5k series boards but after doing some research the gigabyte seems to have better quality and stability.

Processor:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017)

Memory:
Mushkin 4gb (2x 2gb) pc2 6400 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146691) and Mushkin 2gb (2x 1gb) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146673)
I figure 6 gigs of memory is what I need. Zbrush will allow 4 gigs of memory and I figure 2 gigs for the operating system and other programs running. I know very little about memory, don't know how to read timing numbers etc. Will I encounter trouble having two kits with different timing, cas latency? Is it better to just get 8gigs even though it's probably overkill and more expensive?

Video Card:
EVGA 640-p2-N825-AR Geforce 8800GTS 640mb. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130080)
I have decided to go with a geforce instead of the quadro, figure I will get more bang for my buck. Still the above-mentioned card may be more than I need, not that that is always a bad thing.

Operating system:
Xp64
Unless anyone can give me a reason to go vista.

Let me know what you think, any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thx
BFolk

BFolk
07-22-2007, 07:16 PM
After a post on the mushkin forum I was advised to go with Mushkin HP2-6400 2X2GB (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820146691)+ XP2-8500 2X1GB (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820146677)

I downgraded the video card to the 320mg evga (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814130038) version and am settling on the Gigabyte GA-P35 DQ6 LGA775 (http://www.gigabyte.us/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2505&ModelName=GA-P35-DQ6) for a motherboard.

Any recommendations for a good CPU heatsink and fan as well as good 120mm and 80mm case fans?

mikepan
07-26-2007, 02:00 AM
mixing fast ram (8500) and slow ram (6400) is kinda pointless as the speed will be lowered to the slower of the two. If you can fine some 2x1GB PC2-6400, then go for it. For the price, you might as well get 8GB of RAM, or just get 4 now and 4 more later then teh price comes down.

Oh, memory speed and timing actually plays a very small role in the real world. I've tested PC2-4200 (5-5-5-15) vs PC2-9200(4-4-4-10) and the performance increase is minimum. Just get the cheapest, largest stick.

also ask yourself do you REALLY need 8GB of RAM? Look in the task manager and see what's your peak memory usage after a heavy day of work. This will give you an indication as to how much ram you really need.

320mb 8800 is a good choice.

and so is the motherboard. Just remember to update the BIOS for max stability and speed.

the stock intel heatsink is perfectly fine if you don't plan to overclock. As the Core 2 Quads runs very cool. For fans, yate-loon 120mm are the best fans i've owned. Quiet and pushes lots of air.

and like I always say, invest in a reliable and efficient power supply. You won't regret it. (fortron, seasonic, silverstone, enhance and pc power and cooling are all very good)

BFolk
07-26-2007, 03:38 AM
I was wondering about mixing the ram, thought it may be reduced down to the 6400 speed. I placed my order a few days ago but will place 4gigs in first and see how it goes, I doubt I need 8 gigs of ram but do think 5 or 6 is the perfect number. I seem to be out of memory often as of late.

I was considering power supplies. I currently have an enermax 460 watt power supply that I was planning on using but may yet replace it.

Thx for the reply

mikepan
07-26-2007, 05:22 AM
Enermax 460W is ok if all you have is a C2Q, 4GB of RAM, 8800GTs, and no more than 2HDDs. I'd definitly get a better PSU if you want to be 'safe', though. It's not an Enermax Liberty, is it? Those have a rather high failure rate. :eek:

BFolk
07-26-2007, 07:52 AM
Hmmm, I currently have three drives so it would seem that my current supply should be replaced, to be safe. What size would you recommend, adding a dvd, floppy drive and 3 hard drives to the setup with room to move a bit? I was looking around the 600 watt power supplies.

mikepan
07-26-2007, 06:15 PM
600W is more than enough for a single graphics card. Just don't get a generic PSU and you should be fine.

BFolk
07-26-2007, 08:55 PM
Just got back from the store. I opted for the pc power and cooling.

Thx for the advise : )

lots
07-26-2007, 10:50 PM
Can't go wrong with PC Power and Cooling ;)

RPG2006
07-26-2007, 11:20 PM
Motherboards you could consider ABit. Either the IP35pro or the Quad GT.

I'm now on a IP35 pro myself, which I'm still testing out(Looking good so far). The Quad GT I had previously was probably the fastest out of it's competitiors Asus, DFI, Gigabyte etc and stable as a rock. Certainly one of the best boards I've had.

If you're looking for a Q6600, and again I've just picked one up today, look out for the GO addition. The serial code has an SLACR on the end.

These are awesome chips, and while you may not be interested in overclocking they are currently hitting a stable 3.6 ghz on air with ease. They also run pretty damn cool.

RPG

mikepan
07-27-2007, 02:02 AM
Which PSU did you get? PCPnC is probably the BEST and most expensive PSU makers out there.

And yes, definitly try to find a newer Q6600, they have the serial number *SLACR*, the older model are SLUM :D There is no performance difference, the only difference is that slacker runs cooler than slum.

RPG2006
07-27-2007, 02:24 AM
And yes, definitly try to find a newer Q6600, they have the serial number *SLACR*, the older model are SLUM :D There is no performance difference, the only difference is that slacker runs cooler than slum.

The vote is still out on that re. Hype and what not. It does seem that generally they're overclocking better than the B3s. Looks as if the combo is a factor though i.e. P35s and the GO chips are having the most success.

All good though:)

RPG

BFolk
07-27-2007, 02:52 AM
Which PSU did you get? PCPnC is probably the BEST and most expensive PSU makers out there.

And yes, definitly try to find a newer Q6600, they have the serial number *SLACR*, the older model are SLUM :D There is no performance difference, the only difference is that slacker runs cooler than slum.

I got the pcp&c silencer 610, smallest they had. I should be recieveing my order tomarrow from tigerdirect that contains the chip, I will check the serial.

CGTalk Moderation
07-27-2007, 02:52 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.