PDA

View Full Version : Drink "sweat"

rdeyoung
07-19-2007, 07:50 AM
Ok, so im sure this has been asked a bazillion times.
But please dont hate. :D
I have in my maya 7.0 scene a soda can yes? And I want it to look cold, and quite refreshing. Therefore having water droplets or "sweat" is a must. Ive seen photoshop tutorials, displacement and what not, but I dont like the look of it. I would like to go for this look:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=132&t=487154&highlight=water+drops

Which ofcourse is particles.

Now, I have no experience in dynamics or particles whatsoever, but i am experienced in modeling, and animation so I do know my way around alittle bit.. And I dont have realflow. So im limited to maya 7.0 unlimited. So if anyone can give me a tutorial for n00bs on how to get that look above, i would appreciate it greatly.
Thanks

thomwickes
07-19-2007, 08:17 AM
this is a copy/paste from my comment on the thread below but i think it's applicable...

I'd go with goal driven blobby particles... there's a great example of this on the kolektiv particles for visual effects dvd (http://www.kolektiv.com/products.php). In fact, the pepsi can in the photo there is the exact example I'm talking about. Some fun particle expressions in there - I highly reccommend it.

Sphere♥
07-19-2007, 06:01 PM
rdeyoung, you could do this easily with Paint Effects. Try the brush: waterDroplets under waterMesh. "Make Paintable" the object on which you want the water droplets and paint away. Since the dropplets are an actual mesh, you can even render it using realistic IOR water material in mental ray or other.

rdeyoung
07-19-2007, 06:19 PM
yea i saw that, but i really dont have the 69 dollars to purchase that.

Hello Sphere,