PDA

View Full Version : Noob needs your suggestions for a simple girlie

keitai
03-25-2003, 02:32 PM
Hi there,

As a Noob i am here to ask your opinions and suggestions. I have read a lot of tutorials for start. The following file is an image i want to make 3d. It a cartoon like girl. I want to make it as simple as possible.

I will post my 3d thingie in a reply

Grtz
Keitai

keitai
03-25-2003, 02:38 PM
and here is the 3d thingie. Haven't got it textured or colored yet.

The only thing am i satisfied with are the eyes. In the end I want to give it a plastic doll liked texture and a simple animation.

btw how do i save a image with the wireframes

keitai
03-25-2003, 03:47 PM
redone the eyes, made them bigger and couldn't resist to add an nose. (see file)

Any tips, pointers

Apollux
03-25-2003, 04:11 PM
to save a render:

1.- set the picture size, quality, bla bla blan and then press RENDER

2.- Check the tipe of output that is set, for images use Targa or Jpeg.

3.- After the render is done (from #1) press F3, fill in the name for the file, confirm (press Enter twice) and you are done.

Now, about the model: It is amazing that this been your first test drive with the software got so close to the reference image. You have been doing 3D stuff before?

First improvement would be to use a higher level on the Sud-D setting. The one that you are using isn't enough to hide the poligons.

Second improvement, cut a hole in the mouth and create a cavity for it inside the head, don't leave as it is right now.

keitai
03-25-2003, 04:52 PM
Thnx Apollux,

It is indeed my first encounter with a 3d program and blender is free so...

a higher level on the Sud-D setting do you mean the subsurf->subdiv settings.

If i do then i don't see much improvement, i think i should move the outer vertices that make up the head. I used a uv-spere with 16-16 or should i subdivide? And what should the avergae Sub-D settings be?