PDA

View Full Version : Dual Mac VS Single P4


wmendez
03-25-2003, 02:00 PM
Adobe has posted results of several tests between a Dual G4 Mac and a single P4 cpu.

http://www.adobe.com/motion/pcpreferred.html

PlanetMongo
03-25-2003, 05:52 PM
As pointed out on /. numerous times, it's rather hard to take seriously any review that thinks 1minute25seconds = 1.25.
Sure, there's going to be time differences. Who woulda thunk it? :: beating dead horse ::

GregHess
03-25-2003, 06:01 PM
Looks like its Dell paying off Adobe now :). Apple must of forgotten to send their check this month.

dmeyer
03-25-2003, 06:39 PM
Originally posted by GregHess
Looks like its Dell paying off Adobe now :). Apple must of forgotten to send their check this month.

Hehe...damn accounting mishaps!

Meshbuilder
03-27-2003, 09:29 PM
http://www.creativemac.com/2003/03_mar/editorials/smack105030326.htm

Check this out..

GregHess
03-27-2003, 11:32 PM
Er...wasn't the point of the adobe article the superiority of the Intel processors vs the Apple? I don't see any Intel vs Apple benchmarks in the macedition article...wouldn't that be the whole point of the counter argument?

Chris
03-28-2003, 12:17 AM
yep, if someone knows that macs can be as fast, prove it, otherwise its all just theory. I dont care about theroetical speed, I only care about how fast my next render will be done so I can go home & watch cartoons... :D

frog
03-28-2003, 08:48 AM
The counter argument seems to be that After Effects has poor multithreading support, but to be fair that has nothing to do with the platform you're using since it would probably suck as much on dual PC than on a dual Mac. Clutching at straws IMO.

Basically they're saying that with decent multithreading support a dual Mac might be better than a single PC, but then to even things out you might want to try a dual PC and see what happens????

sumatra
03-28-2003, 11:32 AM
Thing is that this test compared the 'best' pc at the time vs the 'best' Mac u could buy, in a specific and thorougly used application by both platforms.

And the point is, pc does the work faster.

Simple as that.
If you're a pro thats all u need to know. You dont go around theorising about app flaws...

Saurus
03-29-2003, 05:56 AM
Originally posted by GregHess
Looks like its Dell paying off Adobe now :). Apple must of forgotten to send their check this month.

Look like Apple is stepping on video base companies territories and these companies are fighting back. Reason for Adobe’s siding with Window base systems.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=8542

ages
03-31-2003, 09:28 AM
wat apple will do is stuff ae off for fcp, and release a ps7 alternative so u never see any platform tests cause the apps only exhist on mac.
This may be a good idea cause if u benchmark a certain Effect that AE and FCP can do liketrasition almost all the time its faster on the mac via FCP.
FCP does effects in realtime compared to AE thats bloated.

This is my experience from changing AE to FCP 1 year ago.
Like PS7 and illustrator 10 many adobe appz are getting so bloated they thought the incline in MHZ speeds would cover it up.
Adobe is cool, but their last set of updates were all slow.
Apple mabe should buyout mecromedia and get their flash and paintshop apps, Steve should then tell adobe to optimise more for mac cause we cant be stuffed waiting for them to optimise anymore. PS7 to osx took toooo long as was a bit too slow to be taken serious.


Quark on the other hand................................................................

Chris
03-31-2003, 08:08 PM
Originally posted by ages
FCP does effects in realtime compared to AE thats bloated.

Well you would kind of expect that to be the case, AE being a compositor & FCP being an editor... You'd be better off comparing Premiere to FCP, & AE to something like commotion or combustion

beaker
03-31-2003, 09:45 PM
Originally posted by Chris
Well you would kind of expect that to be the case, AE being a compositor & FCP being an editor... You'd be better off comparing Premiere to FCP, & AE to something like commotion or combustion
Sortof. The thing is FCP is an editor with lots of AE abilities. It can use most AE plugins, has a scripting language, and cover alot of AE functionality to do compositing. I would say about 60-70% of AE's abilities can easily be done in FCP with a fair amount of controll.

Chris
04-01-2003, 09:53 PM
True, although I still like to use a specialised compositor for most of that kind of stuff. I've tried the keying & doing some simple motion graphics in FCP3, it was alright, but doing the same stuff in Combustion is a lot nicer & more accurate. Still if you wanted 1 piece of software with editing & with some alright compositing capabilites, FCP is the one! :thumbsup:

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.