PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave without Project Messiah

Pesto
03-24-2003, 10:58 PM
Hello all,
I am brand new to CGTalk and I have a question for Bill E. and the rest of you...Does one need PrjMessiah to do character animation in LW 7.5? I'm coming from an AM background were I am barely above beginner level. If I had the $, would LW 7.5 only, be a good purchase for character animation?
Anyone use C4D v8 with MOCCA? I've played around with the demo and it seemed alittle confusing...but then again I am a beginner.

Thanks,
Pesto:airguitar

Nonproductive
03-24-2003, 11:45 PM
"need" is relative to your desires, wallet and level of patience.

LW has the tools to do character animation. Throw in ACS4 ($90) and you don't even have to worry about most of the rigging process. There are some bone tools coming out from Irrational Tools that will make rigging much less of a hassle as well.

Where Messiah excels is primarily Speed. It FLIES. Lightwave gets very sluggish when you have complex or multiple simple IK chains. There are ways of making it speedier - but it is still no where near M:A's speed.

Messiah has a lot of really nice tools but you *can* get work done without them. Just takes a little more patience.

Messiah, Lightwave and C4D all have demos available with tutorials. The Lightwave demo *should* downloadable soon...or so Newtke says. :) Make sure to work with them all a bit. Look for online tutorials on rigging, animating, texturing, etc. and see what you think of the workflow. You won't go wrong with Lightwave or C4D - they are both very capable and stable apps.

Roger Eberhart
03-24-2003, 11:50 PM