PDA

View Full Version : What makes a good rig? Masters Project Survey

kennez
07-12-2007, 04:19 PM
Hi all!

I'm currently doing my Masters dissertation at the University of Teesside. The subject of my dissertation is character rigging in Maya, and as part of the documentation/report, I would like the opinions of professional Character TD's about what makes a good rig?

Also, how many of you create custom control windows for your rigs? A window like this is also part of my dissertation, and I would like to know your opinions about these as well.

Please either reply here, or send me your thoughts to malcolm_kenworthy (at) hotmail (dot) com, with a subject line of Rigging Dissertation.

Many thanks for your time in advance guys and girls!

eek
07-12-2007, 04:22 PM
The right balance of manual and automated controls, flexibilty and very fast viewport interaction. No counter rotation - very very fast understanding of the rig.

VM
07-12-2007, 07:05 PM
wo, eek, you've summed it up brilliantly!!

check out jason schleifer's blog/forum, I remember he was asking people what they think would be hot to have in a rig

csc2h
07-14-2007, 07:17 AM
The definition of a good rig is actually very simple: That the rig does what it needs to do with as much ease as possible for the animators. Simple but smart!

Deformations/finishing is also very important...

VM
07-16-2007, 03:40 AM
The definition of a good rig is actually very simple: That the rig does what it needs to do with as much ease as possible for the animators. Simple but smart!

hehe, some of the simple things are the least simple :D