PDA

View Full Version : MentalRay and bump maps problem


stelhar_1999
03-24-2003, 12:36 PM
I can't make MentalRay to render bump maps. I used a 5+ value in Bump Depth (Even reached 50!) and a value -4 to -7 in Bump filter but I got nothing!
What am I doing Wrong?!?

stunndman
03-24-2003, 12:38 PM
are you using a maya shader or a mental-ray node like dgs_material?

when you are using a maya shader bump mapping works as usual

stelhar_1999
03-24-2003, 12:41 PM
Just the maya shaders!

stunndman
03-24-2003, 12:46 PM
then everything works as usual - does the bump show with the built-in renderer? - and are you using the proper bump node (2d,3d)?

stelhar_1999
03-24-2003, 12:48 PM
Everything shoes up right in the native Maya render and I use a bump2d node

stelhar_1999
03-24-2003, 01:44 PM
here is a comparison for the two renderers with a bump map!
I use noise in a bump2d node

nights
03-29-2003, 01:44 PM
:shame:
ofcourse you cant MR bumpmap a maya texture, you would have to convert the map to a file, either using the convertion tool in the hyper shade or do it manually, either way is ok. good luck. :thumbsup:

stunndman
03-29-2003, 01:49 PM
Originally posted by nights
:shame:
ofcourse you cant MR bumpmap a maya texture, you would have to convert the map to a file, either using the convertion tool in the hyper shade or do it manually, either way is ok. good luck. :thumbsup:

why ? my bump maps (maya 2d or 3d textures) are all working fine when rendered with mental ray

nights
03-29-2003, 10:47 PM
Originally posted by stunndman
why ? my bump maps (maya 2d or 3d textures) are all working fine when rendered with mental ray

Ive faced various problem using standard textures with MR, ofcourse you do as you wish.

Jozvex
03-29-2003, 11:07 PM
hehe, my Maya textures etc all work fine too!

Have you tried reinstalling MR?

stelhar_1999
03-30-2003, 01:28 PM
I uninstalled MAYA and Mental ray and I also deleted all registry entries, then installed everything and everything works fine (so far that is!!!)

mattcioffi
10-31-2003, 08:40 PM
I've run into this problem a few times myself. i was actually searching for a similar thread i posted here awhile back so that i could post my solution. your mileage may vary but if you run into this problem the following explanation may help:

what i've notice when i can't get a bump map to render correctly in mental ray is that somehow mental ray has gotten confused as to which engine is controling the objects tessilation(maya or MI). this happens to me when i use a maya polySmoothSurface node. but i bet it could happen on nurbs or subdivs too. for some reason this doesn't effect color maps etc.

this is what worked for me --- i selected my geometry went to Window>Render editors>mentalray>approximation editor> - under subdivision approx i had to select "derive from maya" then i clicked assign.

if your working with nurbs you want to adjust surface approx

hope this helps you

peace
Matt Cioffi

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 06:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.