PDA

View Full Version : Linux GUI

Pretorian
07-02-2007, 12:27 AM
I have downloaded the Live version from Fedora, wich lets you boot using the CD and start Fedora. I just loaded it but canīt start the GUI (KDE). Two questions:

- how do I start the GUI from the command line?

- can I install apps from the GUI?

Thanks

UrbanFuturistic
07-02-2007, 12:37 AM
1) That should just happen but Fedora's an unstable pile of cack.

2) Oh yes.

Now, if you have to ask the second question, start with Ubuntu (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download). I've been using Linux for over 10 years now and I can't be bothered with Fedora's 'quirks'. Ubuntu has a tendency to just work.

Edit: If you particularly need to run Red Hat for a particular app, I suppose you could do worse than CentOS (http://www.centos.org/) which is an exact clone of RHEL from the RHEL source code (just with all the branding stripped out) right down to the matching version numbers.

It's not the easiest distro in the world to manage and the first thing you'll want to do is set SELinux to permissive or you'll never get anything done, but it'll be guaranteed to run your software stable. This is the difference between RHEL and Fedora, RHEL uses only tried and tested code and Fedora's based on bleeding edge code that'll crash on you soon as look at you, seems to be popular with the bleeding-edge crowd.

Pretorian
07-02-2007, 03:28 AM
Thanks!

In case of KDE, how do I start it? After booting, I get the login, after that it get's the shell. So, how do I start KDE? It's just the "kde" command? I already tried and didn't work.

Thanks

aglick
07-02-2007, 02:22 PM
"startx" should load your gui

lots
07-02-2007, 03:00 PM
Thanks!

In case of KDE, how do I start it? After booting, I get the login, after that it get's the shell. So, how do I start KDE? It's just the "kde" command? I already tried and didn't work.

Thanks