PDA

View Full Version : x86-64 in 3d apps. who's in?


bri
03-21-2003, 07:37 PM
maybe i'm missinformed, but seems that only softimage is working on their version for athlon 64/opteron. See link
http://www.aceshardware.com/read.jsp?id=55000244

i work with lwave, and i supose there'll be lower render times when those babes arrive (sse2 suport, better ipc than pIV) but with a large disadvantage in clock freq, around 1-1.2GHz. So, i think recompiling our 3d soft will be a must to take full advantage of those pretty nice extra registers and GB of adressable mem:drool: maybe 22-april will clear everything 4ever

Bradf0rd010
03-22-2003, 04:47 AM
Yes, they do have a lower clock speed.
However, in a similar way to the XP > P4 situation, they perform comparably with 32bit chips of much faster clock speeds.

elvis
03-22-2003, 01:10 PM
there are rumblings that discreet and autodesk are very keen to get 64 bit versions of their software out the door for 64 bit windows ports. rumour has it they've been testing their stuff on 64 bit versions of windows for quite some time now.

i believe there's something mentioning the above on discreet's press release pages. i'll try to dig it up on monday morning.

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.