PDA

View Full Version : Whoops!!!"- Villian - Jonesy

Jonesy
03-21-2003, 06:42 PM
<<ADDED: The final animation--
http://home.attbi.com/~c.jones/movies/JonesyApril16.mov
>>>>

I screwed up when I named the thread, it's supposed to be "hero" not "villian", that's what I get for cutting and pasting without paying attention.

This is my first challenge and I've probably bitten off more than I can chew, but "Oh, well!".

The early doodle is very rough, but it's mostly for me anyway :)

I've been experimenting with getting comic book style shading for a few months now, and when I saw the challenge I figured, "Here's a chance to build a character to use it for."

Jonesy
03-21-2003, 06:48 PM
This test render shows the work already finished in the last view days of the head. The hair was and still is a pain, but it's coming along finally.

Even though it's only a head at this point you can already see the general look I'm going for with the materials and lighting. My goal is to make it 3D but look like a hand drawn modern comic book illustration. It's kind of a regular material/ cell shaded hybred. I'm still hammering out the look, but I think it's really starting to come together.

Jonesy
03-24-2003, 01:02 AM
A quick update screen, it also shows some of the wireframe, so you can get an idea at how it's put together.

Still have a lot of details to put in. Plus I'd still like to give him a cape, then all the fun of bones setup and morph targets.

Questions... Comments... Welcome.

Mahlon
03-24-2003, 06:49 PM
Hey, that's looking very good. Are you going to go all the way cel shaded-look or continue with the hybrid? I'd like to see at least one image all cel shaded, though I think the hybrid look you've got resembles a 'slick' style more than all cel would. Funny, but it also resembles some drawings by a friend of mine who worked for Malibu comics, back in the day.

Keep posting. What are your plans for animation?

Mahlon

Jonesy
03-24-2003, 11:16 PM