PDA

View Full Version : Z-Depth in 8.5

nester999
06-28-2007, 04:51 PM
Hello all,

I have been working with maya for about three years now, and one thing that has always seemed to evade me is getting a z-depth layer to properly render out.

In maya 7.0 I would hit the z-depth checkbox in the Render Globals, and nothing would come out (I was led to believe it can be viewed in the alpha channel which is the little white circle next to the rgb channel button in the render view).

Now in Maya 8.5, I can't even find the checkbox, but I've found a tutorial on deathfall which uses an environmental fog shader. Unfortunately when I apply it to my geometry, my renders do not reflect it actually working or getting applied.

I have never actually gotten a z-depth channel to work, and I still have maya 7.0 so if anyone has any workflow for creating depth of field that isn't created using Maya's DOF (too time consuming with possibilities for error) and utilizes After Effects as well I would be most grateful. Thanks in advance!

~E

lazzhar
06-28-2007, 05:09 PM
Just render to Maya iff file format and open the output in Fcheck and hit "z" to see it.
You can use custom z-depth shaders as well if you want

overEZ
06-28-2007, 11:10 PM
i'll give you two easy ways in 8.5: one easy, one easier

easy: assign a surface shader to all geo. out color = white. in render settings>render options>use environment fog. fog color = black. near clip plane = distance from cam to closest geo. far clip plane = distance from cam to farthest geo. Saturation distance = about half of far clip plane.

easier: select all geo in scene. create a new render layer for all geo. use a the Luminance Depth preset on that render layer. render.

coccosoids
06-28-2007, 11:13 PM

nester999
06-29-2007, 07:23 PM
You are a god among men...unless you're a woman by chance. Either way, thank you sooo much!

nester999
06-30-2007, 04:27 PM