PDA

View Full Version : maya's use background shader


septopus
06-26-2007, 05:08 PM
is there an equivalent to maya's use background shader for xsi?

this shader catches shadows, but renders the background [i.e. env image]; specifically renders what is below it; in that it renders what ever is below the point where it intersects the environment on a flat plane.

the shadow shader for xsi renders black.

any maya users know whati am talking of?

thanks.

Rens
06-26-2007, 05:19 PM
This might help: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=475204

septopus
06-26-2007, 09:49 PM
thansk Rens. i know the shadow shader.
i posted this on xsi base,
this would illustrate a little better

hi. here are some shots of what i mean. and how this shader is different than the shadow shader.
first image, scene set up. render default settings and default lambert shader rendered with HDR in env.
second render, use background shader applied to the grid, render b, default setting on the shader property, render a tweaked setting on use background shader.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1215/633341489_3bbf7cc5c0_o.jpg


http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1116/633341521_305e2a2128_o.jpg

visualboo
06-26-2007, 11:21 PM
Is there any reason you don't just comp it like everyone else?

I wish SI or MI would just write this shader so people stop posting these threads. Sorry it sounds like I'm in a bad mood but really I'm not. Rockin out to some tunes to be exact.

MasterZap? C'mon man. "you can do iiit"

CGTalk Moderation
06-26-2007, 11:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.