PDA

View Full Version : The structure of man dvd, from a programmers perspective

luzarius
06-21-2007, 09:49 PM
I don't mean to double post...

I've been working as a programmer for 7 years and now for the last 6 months i've been crossing over into the 3d art/modeling world. You guys have so much more fun than coding. I hate coding officially. The problem I have is I have very very little artistic talent, vision, creativity and it really needs to be developed.

The structure of man dvd's show you how to draw and create a human from a technical stand point and for me that is a god send.

I'm actually drawing stuff that looks like a human and I understand it which is rare since I couldn't draw anything before the DVD.

I highly recommend this DVD to anyone who has no clue how to draw because it helped me a programmer understand the concepts of drawing a human.

Now if there is a structured technical way that shows you how to be creative, that would be ideal (lol)..

How to be creative
- Step 1
- Step 2

hah

Luzarius

fuss
06-21-2007, 10:00 PM
Hi, I'm in a very similar situation as you (programming for the last... uhm, at least 16 years, and working professionally as a programmer for the last 8 years and currently working on a career change to a 2D and *maybe* 3D artist) AND it just so happens I posted something about this very DVD set only a couple of minutes ago in this (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=177&t=507300) thread ;) (maybe both threads could be merged?):

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=177&t=507300

mortini
06-28-2007, 08:42 PM
I've heard friends mention 'i wish i could do x', where x is something artistic - singing, painting, whatever.

I think this article: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=177&t=485806 sums it up pretty well. You've got to DO it to actually get better at it.