PDA

View Full Version : Mental Ray Is being a tard


acc9340
06-21-2007, 01:29 AM
So hi....

I am renderring a final project in mental ray and the frames, overall, render but I get inconsistent little black squares where there should be color. This only started once the hair was in. Anyone know what's causing this?

ACC

ryentzer
06-21-2007, 04:32 AM
Without knowing your render settings I would check (in the MR render globals) the min/max AA samples, making sure they are production level and also adjusting the contrast threshold if need be. Try Sample lock also.

acc9340
06-21-2007, 08:58 PM
Got it! I upped the filtering. Thanks for the advice.

ACC

inguatu
06-21-2007, 09:01 PM
Got it! I upped the filtering. Thanks for the advice.

ACC

so really.. was it MR that was the tard in this case? :)

acc9340
06-22-2007, 01:11 AM
Ouch! That hurts because it is true.

Feeling humbled,

ACC

Roi-Danton
06-22-2007, 06:59 AM
:D

If you don't want to raise filtering settings you can render two frames with slightly different camera positions and removing the black boxes during postwork.

Works for me good for animations w/o having to increase filtering.

CGTalk Moderation
06-22-2007, 06:59 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.