PDA

View Full Version : The Crystal Tree - Fantasy [Hyper/photorealistic]

MrHobby
06-17-2007, 12:44 AM
Hi everyone.
I am looking for concept artists of all experience levels for The Crystal Tree scene.
The Crystal Tree is an idea i've had for awhile but never had time to pursue the project.
Now that i have a little break in work i started up the project and realized a few things.
My drawing really sucks. And i'm not good at coming up with concepts.
So i came here to look for some inspiration and after reading a lot of threads i decided to try and make this a collaborative piece.

I think with all the talent here that this will come out way better through ideas and visions of other artist together.
Due to not ever trying to visualize the concept i only have the overall idea of what i'm thinking about.
That's a very wide spectrum to play with. That's where you will come in first.
The idea:

The over all idea for The Crystal Tree is a large tree made of crystal with leaves made rock or crystal or any material that hold other objects of some sort.
For example if the object was a habitation there would be forests, houses, gardens, structures, etc. on each leaf making up and entire town or likewise.
Or the leaves could hold something like different landscapes themselves or portals to different places or time.
Or perhaps different natural occurrences like hurricanes, storms, volcanoes, tornados, tsunamis, etc.

The crystal tree will be in a valley slightly lowered in the center of a massive landscape.
The other idea behind the tree is that it emanates an essence that crystallizes all objects near it within a certain vicinity.
So the valley that it's nestled in would be all crystallized up until about 70% of the valley headed outward then the essence would slowly disperse into natural landscape and vegetation. slightly creeping out of the valley at the very end.