PDA

View Full Version : How do I set up a digital canvas for high quality printing

claymover
06-15-2007, 02:35 PM
Can someone explain to me the proper way to set up my pixel ratio and resolution so I can later print my digital paintings/drawings as high quality prints? I would like to print at basic sizes 8 x 10 or larger. 18 x 24 for example.

I don't know if I am doing something wrong. I am fairly new to digital work. I set up a new file as

width 5400 pixels
height 7200 pixels
resolution 300

thinking I would be able to then print a high quality 18 x 24 print. Doing this turns my computer into a slug and every touch of my wacom pen is hesitating. Is there a better way to set up a painting? Please help if you can.

Typeboy
06-15-2007, 05:26 PM
Hi resolution images require a fast computer with lots of ram. Theres no 'setting' you can change that will make your computer faster at higher resolutions really. You can adjust the cache size and the number of undos for the history pallette to help though. Also make sure you do a fresh boot and there are no other apps running in the background or big images in the clipboard. Basically free up everything you can to get the best performance.
You can also be tricky depending on the quality of the image needed, by working half size and scaling up, using a 3rd party plugin such as Alien Skin Blow up will help in that department as well. I'm not sure what youre trying to do, but if you're using it for fine art type 'painting', other tricks are to block out the shapes and colors at a lower res and scale up for the final detail, so you arent working on a slow computer the entire time. You can also crop an image into parts and only work on quadrants and then assemble them at the end and touch up any seems if necessary. Good luck-

thomasluca
06-15-2007, 05:34 PM