PDA

View Full Version : character - zbrush play


capone_adam
06-13-2007, 11:47 AM
Trying to create a simple looking character that can eventually be textured. Trouble is I'm not that experienced with zbrush yet. Any suggestions of what techniques to learn that could help define this character more. At this stage I am just blocking out the main shapes and as you can see I have just upped the division and started work on the top of the boots. Its at this stage that I start to have real problems. Any suggestions/thoughts would be much appreaciated.

http://www.caponeart.com/wip_guy01.jpg

giyomu
06-13-2007, 02:52 PM
hi

well in my opinion for this kind of simple character you should better to do using polygon modelling as you will got more control about what you do ...espacially if you 're not really confortable with zbrush...then you can use zbrush for little details or texture ...

this is just my opinion ..I'm still noob using zbrush so i prefer the old polygon way most of the time...even if it take longer

anyway if you never practice zbrush it will be difficult to get the hang of it so just keep going and try to get your shape as you want :)

FreakyDude
06-13-2007, 04:04 PM
Well I haven't used zbrush at all, so that makes me the biggest noob, but I'd say make sure the base geometry is clean. I don't know much about zbrush and how it creates it's polys, didn't it automatically creates the low poly cage as you go?
Anyhow old fashioned way but solid:
model a simple lowpoly version with a good polydistribution and edgeflow.
bring it into zbrush (I use blender for this) start upping the resolution and sculpt away.

this method gave me this WIP:
http://img104.imageshack.us/img104/3505/bobao2lweboq9.jpg
If you subdivide say a cube, and you start pulling/drawing near the edges, when you paint on the edges that where pulled afterwards, they'll look funky/bad. Isn't that the problem you are having near the boots?

capone_adam
06-13-2007, 05:20 PM
Thanks for the info,

I did actually create the initial model in max. At this stage I wasn't too bothered about great topology as I was hoping to recreate it with the new topology tool in zbrush3 but it seems you can only really do it if your model was made using zspheres...so I've sort of screwed up already.

http://www.caponeart.com/wip_guy02.jpg

Latest...

http://www.caponeart.com/wip_guy03.jpg

CGTalk Moderation
06-13-2007, 05:20 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.