PDA

View Full Version : Fragment/particle positioning issue


cubiclegangster
06-13-2007, 12:25 PM
Ive got a series of objects (a massive amount of cubes making up a shape), and I wanted to spawn particles and link one particle to each object - I'm fine with what I'm doing with the particles themselves, its just getting them to link properly which is causing me problems.

My particles assign to the objects fine, theyre in the correct positions, but when I display the object that theyre attached to theyre all twice the distance they should be from a center point which shouldnt even be being used anymore...

Here's an screen to show what I mean:
Yellow = the particle objects, coloured ones are my original fragments. The particles themselves sit on the pivot point of the original objects.
http://xs216.xs.to/xs216/07243/tempforchaos.jpg (http://xs.to)
Any ideas?

Wicked
06-13-2007, 06:41 PM
I assume you're using a (birth)script to make particles take the same position as the objects/fragments..?

I also had similar problems. This is what I did:
- Make sure you don't have a "position object" or "position icon" in your flow (something that I cracked my head about, several times :) )
- center the pivot to the center of the fragments (not necessary)
- reset the fragments by using "Reset XForm"

You might to "evaluate" the script again if you perform changes to the fragments, after you've build the particle flow. Or use an "Cache-operator"

cubiclegangster
06-14-2007, 12:48 PM
Sorted, it was the xform thing, thanks wicked :)

CGTalk Moderation
06-14-2007, 12:48 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.