PDA

View Full Version : Animation Exercises

petey
06-08-2007, 09:45 AM
Hey Guys

I was hoping we could compile a list of animation exercises. What I mean by this is short projects that help develop your animation by focusing on specific aspects of character movement.

An example would be having a mannikin picking up a heavy ball and putting it on a table. I'd like to know what exercises you guys found most valueble in your learning. It would also be good if you include why you think they're valueble and what animation principles you think they're displaying, e.g. picking up a heavy ball to show weight.

I'm fairly new to animation and I really want to understand its mechanics, all comments are appreciated!

sdyer23
06-08-2007, 01:13 PM
petey,

Here are a couple I can think of off the top of my head.

The Walk Cycle -- This is the basic animation exercise that all Animators should learn. It is also one of the hard things to pull off not so much because of the parts you need to moe, but getting the fluidity of motion down right. Walk cycles are basic, but they can be tweaked and manipulated to create many variations so it's good for character design as well.

The Run Cycle -- THis is here for much the same reason as the walk cycle, but also the run cycle has a couple differences (More exaggerated up and down motion, one pose where both feet are off the ground etc.) from the walk cycle so animating one will allow you to see and feel those differences.

Lip-Sync -- Lip sync is another staple in Animation, that is being able to create or use a head or even a body model and have your character act out or just talk through a scene. This exercse is good because you will learn about Phonemes and Visemes -- that is the basic sound and visual componenets in speech.