PDA

View Full Version : Questions about rigs in blender

DrAdamDinosaur
03-18-2003, 06:52 AM
I am really interested in getting into blender, from what I've seen its a very competent program (and free to boot). Anyway, I was wondering about rigging in blender.

At school I used Maya and when I set up rigs I use a lot of control objects to make using the rig easier. Is this possible to set up in blender? Also things like "Set Driven Keys" (ie, a sliders that control things like closing fingers etc).

As you can see I have very little experience with blender so I don't know what it can do although I am ready to be shown (anyone got any links?). Alos if anyone knows of any indepth rigging tutes for blender I would be really interested.

harkyman
03-18-2003, 11:41 AM
Here's a rundown of Blender's rigging/character anim capabilities...

1. implements both ik and fk in the same rig

2. allows bones to be parented/contrained to other bones within the same armature or external objects such as empties/lamps/meshes

3. contraints include:
- copy location (copies location of another object, x y and z separately selectable)
- copy rotation (currently only copies full rotations of other objects)
- ik solver
- track to (points the bones y-axis at the target and tracks it)
- action (use of this contraint can activate saved actions over a specified range; can be used to deform a muscle when the bone is rotate, etc.)
- null

4. The strength of these contraints can be animated; eg. you can have two Copy Location contraints on a hand rig and animate their relative strengths in order to have the hand switch between two distinct "lock" locations; eg. you can turn an ik solver on and off to switch between ik and fk on a chain.