PDA

View Full Version : My dielectric_material glows !

Ecco2
06-07-2007, 03:08 PM
Hi there,
I've been reading this forum for a pretty long time now, but this is my first post ever. I'm pretty new to Maya, yet I used to use Blender in the past so I'm not a total newbie.
Anyway, as suggested in various tutorials I read on the net, it sounds like dielectric_material is the way to go when you want to texture transparent materials like water and glass. In the following scene :

http://ddbx.likid.org/cgi/Appart.png
http://ddbx.likid.org/cgi/Vase.png

I made a "glass" material, which uses :
-> A "dielectric_material" as a Material Shader
-> An "mib_shadow_transparency" shader for the Shadow shader
-> And a "dielectric_material_photon" for the photon shader

The room is light by two kinds of lights : a sun, which is outside, and a area-light photon-emitting light in each window.

In the scene, the vase, the table, and even the windows all use the same "Glass" material. Even the lamp in the corner of the room has small pieces of glass.

And while it's not visible on the windows, the vase seems to be emitting more light than it receives. This is also slightly visible under the table, and near the lamp in the corner. This yelds to a weird "glowing" effect. Do you have any idea as of _why_ it's behaving like this ? And do you know what I could do to try to fix it ?

Thanks a lot in advance !

MAV4d
06-08-2007, 06:06 AM
any photons emitting from the light? you could be getting a occumlation of photons in those hot spots.... im not entirely sure but the dgs material can reflect 100% of photons.

Hope this helps!

MasterZap
06-08-2007, 09:39 AM
You are most likely running out of trace depth, and the dielectric material then "sees" the environment... which is the sky, in your case.